
You know what's kind of weird about this whole law thing right now? The Law Society of Upper Canada only accepts certain kinds of ID as proof of who you are, and driver's licences and student cards don't count. They accept birth certificates and Canadian Citizenship cards, both of which have me listed as Claudia Ximena. I went by Claudia as a child, but utterly loathed the name and changed it to Jimena (its alternate, Anglo-friendly spelling) when I entered high school. That was a long time ago. I've been Jimena ever since.
So here I am, dealing with LSUC to do my bar exams and do this course, and they've got me down as Claudia. I not only have to pick up documents and check ticky boxes bearing that name, I also have to sign it a lot. And respond to it while they're checking attendance. And introduce myself by it during role plays.
So strange, after twenty-five years. I no longer hate the name - in fact, I think it's quite pretty (probably because the only Claudia I've known other than me is Claudia Schiffer), but it doesn't belong to me any more. I have less of a connection to it than I do to Cirocco Jones. I can't read John Varley's Titan series without a disturbing sense that I'm reading Real People Fic based on me, but the name I used for the first thirteen years of my life is totally foreign to me.
Weird.