ciroccoj: (general ick at people)
[personal profile] ciroccoj
So much done lately. Riding classes for boys, swimming, ballet, lots of reading for me, Chris is Toronto for two days for the *&^% lawsuit, yadda yadda yadda.

So much still to do. Clean our house, read read read some more, and, most importantly, go clean my mom's house before tomorrow, when a couple is going to come take a look at it and see if they want to rent it. Pleaseohpleaseohplease.

***

We haven't had people over for a dinner party since sometime around May of 2005. This is sad.

***

Canada, I think, is divided into two groups of people: those who believe that Toronto is the greatest city in the world (happily, most of them live there) and those who believe it is a pit to be avoided if at all possible. There are, by my calculation, 37 Canadians who do not fall into either category and who can take Toronto or leave it.

Reminded of this in class the other day when one of my classmates started ragging on Ottawa, ranting bitterly about how it's cold, and ugly, and there's nothing to do, ever, and he hates it hates it hates it and did he mention it's cold and boring and ugly?

"Where are you from?" somebody asked.

"Toronto."

"Ah," said (and thought) many people.

"Yeah, man, Toronto. Why the hell would anybody want to live anywhere else? I can't wait to get back, man. Leave this crappy little town. Go back to where there's an actual night life and you don't freeze your ass off all year long. %$#@ I hate this *&^%ing place."

The thing is, he's probably right; Ottawa stores do close ridiculously early (many are done by 8-9PM) and I've heard the selection of dance bars is rather limited. So if that's what you want to do with all your free time, this would indeed be a pit of despair.

I dunno, though. With all the classes and social groups and sports and museums, and the Canal in the summer, Gatineau Hills in the fall, and Rideau Skateway in the winter, and all the theatres and cinemas and all that going on all year long, I can't see it as all that boring.

It's a sort of City Mouse/Country Mouse, and I'm so happy to be in the role of the Country Mouse :) :) :)

Date: 2006-09-23 07:03 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] daf9.livejournal.com
I think you should add a third category of those who enjoy occasional visits to Toronto but wouldn't want to live there full-time. It's my impression that category includes a significant fraction of Buffalonians.

Date: 2006-09-24 01:07 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ciroccoj.livejournal.com
I think you should add a third category of those who enjoy occasional visits to Toronto but wouldn't want to live there full-time.
LOL yeah, probably. I keep thinking I'm in that category, but then every single time we actually go there I feel angsty and trapped until we leave. Which is kind of too bad, as I have a few really good friends who live there and enjoy seeing them a lot. It doesn't make up for the bubbling ulcer, though.

Date: 2006-09-23 11:59 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] owens-mom.livejournal.com
As an American desperately in love with your country, I have to say Toronto (fully) completely disappointed me. Within my first hour there - going from the train station to my room over near, ah, some university - I nearly got run over by a taxi, found the people I dealt with to be completely rude, and it smelled like garbage. Ugh. I never got what the Captain Tractor song I Remember You was talking about until I was there experiencing it: "It stinks again in Toronto, can't see the top of the CN Tower..." I've fallen in love with about every other city I've been to - Victoria, Vancouver, Jasper, Montreal, Halifax... even the hour I spent in Winnipeg was pleasant. Toronto - meh.

Date: 2006-09-24 01:11 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ciroccoj.livejournal.com
I have to say Toronto (fully) completely disappointed me.
LOL! Oh, d'oh.

I nearly got run over by a taxi, found the people I dealt with to be completely rude, and it smelled like garbage.
Ever heard Ontario Sucks?

I hate the SkyDome and the CN Tower too;
I hate Nathan Philips Square and the Ontario Zoo!
The rent's too high,
The air's unclean,
The beaches are dirty,
And the people are mean!
And the women are big and the men are dumb
And the children are loopy 'cause they live in a slum!
The water is polluted and the mayor's a dork!
They dress real bad and they think they're New York...
In Toronto...!
Ontario ... oh-oh!


God, I love that song. Even if it does eventually diss every part of Canada except Alberta ;)

Date: 2006-09-24 03:02 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] owens-mom.livejournal.com
hee hee hee. I have not heard that song. Arrogant Worms? Or another fine Canadian band? That is hilarious! Plus no more Tie Domi, so the town has really gone to shit.

November 2012

S M T W T F S
    123
45 678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 05:14 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios