ciroccoj: (Default)
[personal profile] ciroccoj
  • Have been watching The X-Files and Star Trek on DVD. ::happy geek sigh::

    Why did nobody tell me that Mitch Pileggi was on Stargate: Atlantis? It's too bad we're about to cancel our cable subscription, because damn, I would've started watching the show just for him ::goes all fangirly::

  • Kids are at March Break camp... in the grocery store. Every time I take them there, I feel like the world's lamest mom, but they really like it. And I get to do my grocery shopping every day, and walk 80 minutes a day.

  • Daniel's skirting snarkiness and disrespect these days. I'm really hoping it's a transitory phase and not the ominous rumblings of impending puberty.

  • Did you know that in Canada, if you marry for the express purpose of being able to immigrate into Canada, your marriage is still considered legal? The court says it's none of their business why you got married; for love, sex, money, immigration status, whatever, it's all good.

    The only slight hitch is that once you're, um, hitched, you have to make an honest go of it. So if you marry to get in, and then try to get divorced your petition may very well be denied on the basis that you tried to commit fraud because you had no intention of remaining married. So... there you'll sit. Irrevocably married.

    None of this seems quite right, somehow. But that's what the line of cases our Family Law profs gave us seem to be saying.

  • Also, if you're married, you suspect your wife of cheating, follow her to a hotel room where she's staying with another man, sneak in while they go out for drinks and hide in the closet, wait for them to come in and start having sex and then jump out of the closet and throw their clothing out the window, you cannot then sue for divorce on the grounds of adultery. Or rather, "[b]efore that relief can properly be granted the Court must be satisfied that the plaintiff is not himself so implicated or involved in the wrong-doing of his wife."

    At least, that was the law in 1943.

  • Was reminded of this yesterday, so I hunted down a link I'd meant to post a long time ago: Al Gore's "Inconvenient Truth" Movie: Fact or Hype?, from National Geographic. Interesting stuff.

Date: 2007-03-13 10:19 pm (UTC)
ext_13204: (Carson)
From: [identity profile] nonniemous.livejournal.com
Re; Mitch Pileggi: Like every character not named Rodney McKay or John Sheppard, Mitch's character, Colonel Caldwell, got short shrift in the end. Still, you might enjoy watching him; he's in Season 2 quite a bit, and some in Season 3. But fair warning, the quality of the show diminishes as you go through the seasons, with the rare random gem in there. I'm a totally frustrated and angry fan right now, and in part it's because of how they've treated characters like Caldwell: Good actors who could have done so much more and characters who could have been really great--but they weren't named Rodney McKay, or they weren't young and HAWT enough. For season 4 Pileggi has been replaced by Michael Beach.

Uhm...Okay, I'm going now. Really. Leaving, becuase I can get way too ranty about the whole Stargate: Atlantis thing. WAY more ranty than this. ;-)

Date: 2007-03-17 01:18 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] ciroccoj.livejournal.com
Re; Mitch Pileggi: Like every character not named Rodney McKay or John Sheppard, Mitch's character, Colonel Caldwell, got short shrift in the end.
Bummer. That kinda sucks. ::sigh::

Uhm...Okay, I'm going now. Really. Leaving, becuase I can get way too ranty about the whole Stargate: Atlantis thing. WAY more ranty than this. ;-)
Um, I don't thinnk you're alone. There's about four or five people on my flist who are big SG fans and I've noticed more than a few posts lately with "SG: WTF!!" as the heading.

::pats you comfortingly::

November 2012

S M T W T F S
    123
45 678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930 

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 29th, 2026 12:03 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios