Confession time:
Sep. 23rd, 2010 11:06 pmI kinda really hate Scouts. When the kids are grown and I look back over my parenting years, I think I'll be proud of myself for many things. I was reasonably health-conscious while pregnant; I worked bloody hard to get them both to nurse; I walked them both through colic and very poor sleep; I child-proofed my house; I cooked, and even learned to enjoy cooking; I kinda single-parented while Chris was a resident; I home schooled them; I got them into taekwon-do; blah blah blah.
But where I really earned my stripes as a mom? Is dealing with the endless activities and packing lists and fundraisers and kerchiefs and woggles and sashes and badges and driving and OMFG THE SCOUTING HUMANITY, WE HATES IT PRECIOUS, YES WE DOES.
I hate it. It's great for the kids, and the leaders (with one annoying exception) have always been wonderful, and the organization itself is excellent, and I'm so grateful for all the kids have gained from the experience, and the day they stop wanting to go I will take to my bed and cry tears of happy happy joy, and never miss it one single itty bitty bit.
But where I really earned my stripes as a mom? Is dealing with the endless activities and packing lists and fundraisers and kerchiefs and woggles and sashes and badges and driving and OMFG THE SCOUTING HUMANITY, WE HATES IT PRECIOUS, YES WE DOES.
I hate it. It's great for the kids, and the leaders (with one annoying exception) have always been wonderful, and the organization itself is excellent, and I'm so grateful for all the kids have gained from the experience, and the day they stop wanting to go I will take to my bed and cry tears of happy happy joy, and never miss it one single itty bitty bit.
no subject
Date: 2010-09-24 04:17 am (UTC)(*cough*And I'm sure it had nothing to do with the fact that they didn't want me back because apparently they only forgive you the first fist fight and not the second but I'm sorry the other girl was asking for it and this is what happens when you're the youngest of five children*cough*)
Sorry, something in my throat there. ;)
no subject
Date: 2010-09-24 11:34 am (UTC)